Officially squatting

Squatting bed

I didn’t even know it was my last night in my bed.

I had plans, they changed, and before I knew it was sleeping somewhere else the last night I (thought) I’d be in my apartment. I guess that’s how life works; you have a plan, you have sentiments, but before you can get nostalgic, it’s over and you can’t go back.

My bed is now squatting in my father’s house on Long Island. I, however am squatting all over New York. Long Island, Kip’s Bay, Manhattan. After a prolonged discussion about the perks (and pitfalls) of being a squatter “on sabbatical” it was decided that this was a book deal in the making. Urban girl leaves apartment, house sits for various entertaining characters, documents experience (ie: my month with the drug addled musician in Bushwick, my week with the socialites on the UES, my time with an ethnic family in Queens). Call it Adventures in Housesitting or Tales of a Professional Squatter. Who knows, it might come to that when I come back broke. I wouldn’t be surprised.

In keeping with that theme, here’s what I’ve learned living in places other than my own. First off, people are neater than me. I seem to come into a place like a whirlwind — before you know it magazines, shoes and various electronic equipment are strewn all over the place. I kind of like it, makes me feel at home. Just wondering how much of a “space” I’ll have to throw my stuff about in the hostel.  More like “twin-size bed in a dorm room” if I’m being realistic. Second, it’s amazing how quickly you can adapt. The bed I slept on last night (thanks Peter) was soft, squishy, and adorned with possibly the most comfortable blanket ever. Fantabulous. Next up? My friend Jackie’s guest room in Melbourne!

Third, I everyone has a varying degree of commitment to electronics. Melissa, first destination this week, rocks th DVR, wireless, mini ipod speakers, good ol’ HBO and a small TV. Peter, destination dos, has every cable channel imaginable, wireless and big everything. Jackie, destination tres in Oz, warned me (profusely) she only had three TV channels. “I wanted you to be prepared,” she wrote. Perhaps I should start trying to wean myself now. It probably did not help I watched HBO and Showtime on demand all morning.

More nuggets TK – only a week or so more squatting here in the States, then it’s a whole new ball game!

One response to “Officially squatting

  1. Is that a blurry photo of my bed? Haha.

Leave a Reply

