Flight 108 -> 94: LIVEBLOG!

I’ve been on a plane for 18.5 hours.

It’s 3:23 p.m. at home, that’s what my computer tells me. Work day almost over. I’m almost in Melbourne – 2.5 hours away.

Right now were flying in between Australia and New Zealand – I can see Auckland on the map. It feels weird, and it feels like I’ll be here for 3 weeks, then head home, back to the same ‘ol, same ‘ol. In my gut, right now, 34,000 feet above the air, it’s almost what I want to do. But that’s probably just because I’m feeling lonely, I miss my friends and a few months sounds like a really long time. In the scheme of things though, I know it’s not. I want to want to stay.

I sincerely hope once I hit the ground, get a little more comfortable, that feeling will go away. Maybe it will, maybe it won’t. But I hope it does.

—–

LIVE BLOGGING THE FLIGHT!

Because I’m sure this will be thrilling to all of you, I live-blogged the flight!

3:30: Leave house. Grab one last guidebook I have not read yet. (Sorry guys. I will, soon, probably.)

4:15 p.m.: Hit minor traffic on the Cross Island expressway. Talk down mother, assure her I will make the flight on time. Agree that the Belt will probably be worse. Express to her I have to pee.

4:45 p.m.: It’s not worse. Make it to Terminal 7 with 2 hours to spare.

5 p.m.: Glare at those in front of me on the bathroom line. Why are you taking so long!!

5:02 p.m.: Pee.

5:07 p.m.: Walk past ridiculously long British Airways check-in line to miniscule Qantas line. Experience slight pang I’m not going to London.

5:15 p.m.: Check in. Wave goodbye to the red bag. Hope to see it again in 24 hours.

5:20 p.m.: Hug mom goodbye. She doesn’t say, “Goodbye,” instead, “Have a wonderful time and we’ll send money if you really run out.” I like my mom. (Hopefully I won’t run out.)

5:25 p.m.: Make it through security. Ogle cute boy in duty free. Text Kristen about cute boy. She misses me already. I miss her too.

5:30 p.m.: Wander around terminal – we’re not boarding until 6:30 p.m.

5:40 p.m.: Decide to buy Eat, Pray, Love, Glamour and InTouch from Hudsons. The first because PJ said it was good and it reminds me of her and her funny Eric story from Thursday; the second because really, what are the secret ways women gain weight? and because it reminds me of Kim; and the last because I need one last American gossip rag. And it reminds me of all my Bauer folk.

5:45 p.m.: Actually purchase items because the line is SLOW and LONG.

5:49 p.m.: Sit and chill in the terminal. Try to write, though getting annoyed by loud, blonde American girl nearby. She’s blabbering on to a woman with a child. “Oh, I’ll be back here in two months for Christmas.” “Oh, I come back and forth, like, all the time.” “My boyfriend this, my boyfriend that.” “Oh, you’re child is like, so cute, can I just buy her?”

5:51 p.m.: Gag me.

6: 20 p.m.: Steal away to make a phone call. Complain about girl to Missy. Complain I don’t know how to write this thing.

6:30 p.m.: Board plane to L.A. Do not see annoying girl. Rejoice.

8:30 p.m.: Leave for L.A. (There were something like 32 planes in front of us waiting to take off. I knew there’d be traffic!)

9:30 p.m.: Watch a few Flight of the Conchords podcasts. I like that I’ll be taking them with me. Down four bags of pretzels.

9:40 p.m.: Eat some braised beef thing with mashed potatoes. Down a Xanax and a mini-bottle of Shiraz.

10 p.m.: Sleep.

Watch Breach somewhere in between. Ellen said it was good. It was. Ryan Phillipe, however, so not as hot with brown hair. (pic, compare and contrast?)

2:00 a.m. (now 11 p.m. L.A. time): Dash off flight, get bused to terminal where Melbourne flight is waiting. The plane I’m on is going to Sydney.

2:30 a.m.: Get on flight to Melbourne in L.A. Realize, ‘This plane is full of hipster boys.’ Thick rectangular glasses, skinny jeans, spiky hair. I’m elated.

2:35 a.m.: Elation quickly turns to dread as I realize I’ll be sitting on this plane for the next 14 hours. Joy. Take off.

3 a.m.: Look desperately for a seat with only 1 other person in it. Right now I’m on the aisle next to two other people. Successfully find one. Silently cheer for joy.

Sleep. A lot. Without Xanax or sleeping pills!

10 a.m.: Wake up. Watch the stars outside for a while. They’re beautiful. I wonder what it would feel like to be in space. I feel close now. It’s amazing how little you see of them in New York.

10:30 a.m.: Watch Paris, Je T’aime. Silently laugh that Kim and I still never went. It was cute. But why is Elijah Wood so freaky looking now? (pic of Elijah?)

Sleep more.

2 p.m.: Eat breakfast. The frittata is surprisingly good. I don’t even like frittatas.

2:05 p.m.: Watch The Nominees (link to blog post) on TV. Hilarious. I love the rolling woman the best. Discover with dismay they pronounce Uluru “OO-le-roo” not “You-LU-roo.”

4 p.m.: Right now. Two hours to go.

4:05 p.m.: My row-mate returns. I’m sitting in his seat, sprawled out. He says, “Honey, I’m home.” Huh-larious.

7:55 AM – AUSSIE TIME – Arrive!

3 responses to “Flight 108 -> 94: LIVEBLOG!

  1. disclosure: according to the flight tracker I was so excited about, your flight was canceled. Sadly, I wasn’t able to track you across the Pacific, however, I was with you in spirit the whole way, for sure. (And am obsessively checking the Melbourne time on my iPod.)

  2. I just realized that I am going to miss the Leetch game because I am going to be driving the crazy van. You should be proud of me.

  3. I LOVE THIS! You’ve answered some important questions in my life lately: “When exactly did Robin’s flight leave?” “What is she doing right now”?

Leave a Reply

