Ready to GO

banner_ambassador.jpg

And we’re off…almost! I set up my new World Nomads journal today here, so everyone can follow on the new blog. I do believe it’s accessible from my FaceBook account as well, so check in! I’ll do a wall post just in case, of course.

It’s been an intersting view days, to say the least. Leaving Sydney was bittersweet – I had a job, I had a house, I had stability, I had the ability to see Aussie Idol Matt Corby (Fri night, OMG! Pix TK) – and I left for the unknown. After traveling for so long, it was nice to be in one spot for a while. Checking into my third Base hostel (Sydney, Magnetic!) Saturday night in Melbourne felt foreign, to say the least. Come on now, I’m a local! Except not, anymore, in Melbourne. Even though I spent three weeks here, after spending a month-plus in Sydney, I had no idea what was going on. This did not help when my brother and his girlfriend, Crystal, were indifferent to how we spent our two days here. Eventually, after wandering around the CBD and St. Kilda Day 1, we decided we’d get out of here and do a Yarra Valley wine tour today. Perfect – learn how to drive the van, see the country, stay our last night in Melbourne, then head out on the Great Ocean Road.

Except not.

We dragged ourselves out of bed at the ridiculous hour of 8:30 a.m., only to arrive at Travellers Auto Barn and have them tell us the van would not be ready until 2 p.m. It needed parts. Fine. 2 p.m. became 3 p.m., 3 p.m. became 4 p.m., 4 p.m. became tomorrow morning. And so it goes. What can you do. So we walked the other neighborhoods, went out for dinner, watched old episodes of Friends at the hostel, and waited. The wineries would have to wait – we’d be setting off on the Great Ocean Road first thing tomorrow.

*This was in no way Traveller’s Auto Barn’s fault. Darren and Sven were as sweet and helpful as can be. It’s a car, cars need service, what can you do! They didn’t even have my phone #, so there was no way they could have even called that morning. Anyways, these things happen! Nothing but love for TAB – they’ve been fabulous through and through.

So L&Gs, we will off tomorrow. First blog post on the newbie, hopefully, comes tomorrow night or the following, when we find some internet access.

Camping. I am camping.

As my new blog motto states, this should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

